Student Works #1 – An Alternative Marina Bay

RESISTING THE GENERIC EMPIRE
by Pan Yi Cheng

You are definitely not alone if you feel that the current building typology of tall straight boxy towers is sooo over.

When opportunity rises to redefine the skyline in the new Marina Bay district, what resulted was a disappointing stack of uninspiring blocks, recycled Cartesian planning and a stagnation of architectural progression in Singapore.

Sameness

Pan Yi Cheng, from the AA, proposed an alternative Marina Bay. Where current blocks taper off at the top, his skyscrapers were inverted – smallest footprint, widest roof. Where current organisation revolves around the 2-dimensional grid, his plan involves a more 3-dimensional urbanism, with a more organic use of space.

Alternative Singapore
(An Alternative Marina Bay)

I think the tapering is great in the way it allows for more shade in sunny Singapore. It looks abit like hotair balloons tethered to the ground! I like that layering between ground/roof and smallness/bigness. It allows for more free space and less visible clutter on the street level. It has a scale befitting of the Marina Bay district, iconic and at the same time not too tacky. Just imagine the possible community spaces on ground as well as across skyscrapers as the broadened roofs meet.

Layerings
(Layerings…)

It’s about freeing movement, freeing the constriants of hegemony as well as navigating the rocky course between “a political reality and a formal proposition”. (sounds cheem hor.. haha) Not incidentally, this project is the 2nd prize winner of the eVolo Architecture Competition for 2007. Congrats to Yi Cheng!


See more:

  • eVolo Architecture Skyscraper Competition
  • Panels and project
  • BD’s Class of 2006
  • Marina Bay Singapore
  • qmark.jpgis working on a housing competition.

    50 responses to “Student Works #1 – An Alternative Marina Bay

    1. hey Hong Guan!! Yeah I saw this project on display when I was visiting the AA exhibition. Totally caught my attention, His tutor is Singaporean too, Chris Lee I think. Hence the unabashedly anti-establishment design. Its brilliant I must say.

    2. yeap I think being overseas gives you a little bit more mileage to criticise things that happen at home, and that is a good thing! If only the establishment takes a more open stance towards these ideas coming in, and are more willing to experiment – not radically, but small gestures at certain areas. Whether a success or failure, at least a lesson learnt – instead of creating endless templates of indistinguishable urbanism.

    3. haha, maybe its a critique of prevalent masterplanning as a whole and not only singapore- in which cities in the world do you actually see buildings and masterplanning on a level like that? So indeed, I appreciate the way he looked at that ‘failure of masterplanning’ everywhere and how the inverted tower potentially created a different urban landscape where smaller & more regularly distributed buildings, which fills the interstices between the tall buildings.
      Will be interested to know more about the inverted form though, like the hole thru haha : )

    4. hmm its more like a critique of aesthetics of rationalisation. esp pronounced in spore with its obsession with computable GFA. but i m not sure neo-oscar-niemeyer formalism is the answer.

      its like when taking away cartesian hegemony and replacing it wholesomely with inverted balloons hegemony, the “hegemony” element remains. in fact, the black and white model there looks like something from the 1960s, an idealist age of totalitarian control of architecture.

      perhaps a little too dismissive, i might be missing a point here just by looking at these imageries.

    5. yeah actually at the aesthetics level i can appreciate his alternative to an urban landscape with the smaller buildings filling the crevices, other than that perhaps more ‘justification’ is needed for potentially filling the whole landscape with similar forms like these once again.
      On a side note, the project would make a nice comparison & think-tank abt our education systems though.

    6. you can say that rationalisation still drives the design idea, if you identify it as the element of “hegemony”, and go even further to say that rationalisation is the cornerstone of Singapore urbanism. However, I like how this proposal realises those constraints, and strive to change, improve or circumvent it. I hope more students can aim to target such issues during their semester design work! 😉

    7. Have you given any kind of consideration at all with converting your main web-site into French? I know a few of translaters here that will would certainly help you do it for no cost if you want to contact me personally.

    8. How did you make a blog look this cool!? Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. !

    9. Mate! This site is sick. How can I make it look this good !?

    10. This is often a excellent web site, would you be interested in making time for an interview concerning just how you made it? If so e-mail me and my friends!

    11. This blog has got lots of really helpful information on it! Thank you for informing me!

    12. I adore that blog layout ! How did you make it. Its really sweet!

    13. Is it alright to insert a portion of this in my web site if I post a reference to this website?

    14. Im having a small problem. I cant get my reader to pickup your rss feed, Im using google reader by the way.

    15. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your webpage? I am looking for a very good web host and your webpage appears to be quick and up just about all the time

    16. This blog has a lot of really useful information on it. Thanks for informing me.

    17. Just to let you know your web site appears a little bit unusual on Safari on my notebook with Linux .

    18. Re: Whomever made the remark that this was a great site really needs to get their head analyzed.

    19. Have you considered including several social bookmarking links to these sites. At least for youtube.

    20. Whenever I at first commented I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive four email messages with the exact same comment.

    21. Cool post ! Thank you for, writing on this blog man! Ill message you some time. I didnt know that!

    22. Mate. This site is sick. How do you make it look like this !

    23. extremely helpful material, in general I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

    24. Have you considered adding some relevant links to your article? I think it might enhance viewers understanding.

    25. You ought to really moderate the commentary on this site

    26. pretty beneficial stuff, all in all I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

    27. I tried taking a look at your web site with my mobile phone and the structure does not seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most mobile phone layouts are not working with your site.

    28. Do you have a spam problem on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your situation; we now have developed some good methods and we are looking to exchange options with other individuals, be sure to fire me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

    29. How come you do not have your site viewable in mobile format? cant see anything in my iPhone.

    30. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your website? I am hunting for a very good host and your webpage seams to be fast and up most the time

    31. If you could message me with some hints about how you made your site look like this, I would appreciate it!

    32. How did you make a blog site look this cool!? Email me if you can and share your wisdom. !

    33. Im having a teeny problem. I cant get my reader to pickup your feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

    34. I tried looking at your website with my iphone and the format does not seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not really working with your website.

    35. Good Stuff, do you currently have a facebook profile?

    36. I Am Going To have to visit again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your Rss feed so i could read your web blog offline. Cheers.

    37. This is often a amazing site, could you be interested in working on an interview concerning just how you developed it? If so e-mail me!

    38. Im getting a small issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your rss feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

    39. When I originally commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment.

    40. It seems to me that this web site doesnt load up on a Motorola Droid. Are other people having the exact same issue? I enjoy this site and dont want to have to skip it any time Im gone from my computer.

    41. Just to let you know your web-site appears a little bit strange on Firefox on my computer with Linux .

    42. I like this blog site layout ! How do you make it. Its very sweet!

    43. It seems to me that this website doesnt download in a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the same problem? I like this blog and dont want to have to miss it any time Im away from my computer.

    44. Good Stuff, do you have a bebo profile?

    45. The majority of of the responses on this blog dont make sense.

    46. This blog has some extremely helpful info on it! Thank you for informing me!

    47. How come you dont have your web site viewable in mobile format? Can not view anything in my iPhone.

    48. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not working today. I tried including it to my Bing reader account but got absolutely nothing.

    49. This specific post, “Student Works #1 – An Alternative Marina Bay | “questionmark”” was very good.

      I am producing out a copy to present to my associates. Regards,Cesar

    Leave a Reply

    